Accessibility Toolbar

Bascom Palmer Eye Institute

Contact the Ocular Microbiology Research Core

Medical Director

Eduardo C. Alfonso, MD

Edward W. D. Norton Chair in Ophthalmology
National and internationally renowned expert in ocular infectious diseases
Listed in the Best Doctors in America
Senior Achievement Award, AAO 2003

Technical Director

Darlene Miller, DHSc, MPH, SM, CIC

Director III
National and internationally recognized expert in ocular microbiology
National-Specialist certification in clinical, medical and public health microbiology
National-Specialist certification in infection control and epidemiology
ORBIS Medical Faculty Award, 2004
Achievement Award, AAO 2003
Faculty Award for Distinguished Services-Joint Commission on Allied health Personnel in Ophthalmology


William Culbertson, MD
Richard K. Forster, MD
Carol Karp, MD
Sonia Yoo, MD
Terrance O’Brien, MD
Kendall Donaldson, MD
Jill Rodilla, MD
Craig Skolnick, MD
Harry W. Flynn, MD
Janet Davis, MD
Jean-Marie Parel, PhD
David Tse, MD

Technical Staff

Martha G. Diaz, BS, M(ASCP)
Edith M. Perez, BS, MT(ASCP)

For more information, please contact:

Darlene Miller, DHSc

Scientific Director, Abrams Ocular Microbiology Laboratory
Phone: 305-326-6000 X6034
McKnight Building, 1st floor